2018 Conference a Success

The Oklahoma Public Fleet Management Association (OPFMA) announced its new board members at the group’s fifth annual convention in Broken Arrow, Okla., on Oct. 5.

Mike Bradley from the City of Broken Arrow was elected as president of the group. Clay Norrell, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, is vice president; Chris Hoffman from Oklahoma State University is associate vice president; Randy Cloud from Tulsa Transit is treasurer; Caitlin Sowders, City of Weatherford, is the social media representative; and Tracie Sanchez from the City of Broken Arrow is secretary. The board also consists of three members at large, three vendor representatives, and past presidents Brian Franklin from the City of Tulsa, Robert Swepston from the City of Muskogee, John Maehs from the City of Stillwater, Dennis Bothell from the City of Lawton, and John Reel from the City of Tulsa.

Nearly 260 fleet professionals registered for the two-day event that brought together participants from 21 states, 55 different cities, and 91 fleet and service organizations. Fifty mechanics registered for technician training, and 45 automotive students attended from Tulsa Union High School and Tulsa Technology Center. The event featured Public Fleet Summit speakers John Hunt and Sam Lamerato.  Technician training was conducted by AC Delco and Summit Truck Group.

Almost 60 fleet professionals participated in the OPFMA golf scramble on Oct. 3rd. After-hours networking occurred at the Broken Arrow Stoney Creek Conference Center where two-time Olympic weightlifter Shane Hamman shared his experiences and participants competed in a trivia contest.